An Introduction To My Current Projects

An Intro To My Current Projects

Part of being a writer and choosing to blog about writing is sharing things personal to us. And what could be more personal than information about our projects?

The projects a writer chooses to undertake and share tell stories about who we are, what matters to us. With that in mind, I would like to introduce you to my current projects.

Written In The Stars

Written In The Stars, YA SF I tend to just call this one Stars. That’s even the way I labeled it when writing the outline for this post.

Stars is a Near Future Scifi story aimed at the YA market and based on my favorite play by Shakespeare: Romeo & Juliet. And I have to admit, I just love this story.

It’s epistolary in nature. Which means that the story is told in a diary, letter or newspaper article etc. format. The format is a fun one to work with and part of the reason I enjoy writing the story so much. Though, I have to admit  I haven’t been working on it as often as I would like in the last couple of months.

Then there is the alien species in my story, which I will from now on be calling X when I talk about them. Besides just being awesome and thoroughly alien, I love that having the Romeo and Juliet relationship be a human-alien couple allows me to talk about some things I find to be important. Namely, the following:

  • racism.
  • integration.
  • friendship.
  • coming to terms with who you’re attracted to.

All of this including a Black 17-year-old girl who already identified as part of the LGBT spectrum. In short? LGBT, Girls of Color, Romeo & Juliet, and aliens! What’s not to love about that?

Bringing Me Dreams

Bringing Me Dreams, Gothic HorrorThis story actually started as a Camp NaNoWriMo novella in July of 2015 and plays into my love of Gothic Fiction and Gothic Horror. Particularly my love of vampires and/or immortals. Because if you know me, you know how much I love vampires and other types of immortal beings. Though the draw of vampires is, of course, their predatory nature and the fact they prey on humans. There’s just something appealing about that.

However, this story isn’t just all about vampires. It also features an interracial lesbian relationship, the story being seen through the eyes of the character who is a Woman of Color (A woman who isn’t White.), angst, and a story within a story.

I’m still in the prewriting phase of things at the moment. Rereading the story and tearing it apart, research, trying to decide which part of the story I want to write first and all that Jazz that comes before getting into the writing for me.

So far it has been fun and I love it.

I should also mention that “Bringing Me Dreams” is based on and inspired by the poem Annabel Lee by Edgar Allan Poe. It’s damn good and I urge anyone who hasn’t read it to do so.

Which brings me to the last project…

The Novella

The Gothic NovellaMy Unnamed Novella is what I’ve been mentally calling “If Wednesday Addams fell in love in a Secondary Fantasy world.” (Yes, that is a mouthful and I can’t wait until I find a more concrete title for it.)

It’s, of course, based on an obvious love of the iconic Wednesday Addams. Not to mention inspired by the some of my favorite songs by the band HIM, the poem “Annabel Lee” by Edgar Allan Poe, and Lord Byron’s poem “She Walks In Beauty.”

However, you may be surprised to find out that is it still, like Bringing Me Dreams, in the planning stages. The only truly active project of the three is “Stars” and I like that because it takes some of the pressure off of writing.

One more thing before I go. I write longhand, meaning I write the story out on paper before transcribing it into a document. There’s a post coming on this next week where I will go into my whys and hows, but don’t be afraid to write longhand if typing into a computer isn’t working for you. It may be that you just need a change of scenery.

As always, thank you for reading. Please feel free to follow the blog if you want to. You can also find me on Instagram, Twitter, and Facebook if that is your preference.

2 thoughts on “An Introduction To My Current Projects

Leave a Reply

